TaeTiSeo Cash In On The Holiday Spirit With OK ‘Dear Santa’ MV

dear santa taetiseo

Just in time to capitalize on the month-long trudging towards December 25th, SNSD sub-unit TaeTiSeo has dropped a new music video called “Dear Santa,” which is extremely, incredibly alright.

Truth be told, I’m not sure if this warrants a whole review. The intro starts off promisingly enough, thanks to the fact that TaeTiSeo has performers (especially Tiffany) who comfortably slay “R&B-lite” productions. However, the meat of the song features the exact same piano keys, holiday chords and sleigh bells that are ubiquitous in every, single holiday pop song that is trying to become  the next iteration of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You” and TaeTiSeo don’t really bring anything new to an incredibly dense field of holiday genre songs. Still, while the song fails to distinguish itself, this is one genre where SM’s commitment to brightly lit, sterile sets actually does pay off in spades as every shot does look like it was filmed out of a Hallmark card.

Also, Taeyeon, Tiffany and Seohyun look absolutely killer (minus the whole pigtail-bun look that all three sport in the red PJs) in this thing which certainly doesn’t hurt.

Overall, I’m not the biggest fan of “Dear Santa” but it’s also the sort of inoffensive fluff that is impossible to go all Ebenezer Scrooge on (this is the point where I point out that I’m likely in the minority here). This year, I’ll stick to SNSD’s immortal rendition of “Santa Baby,” thank you very much. #AsFlawlessAsHolidayJinglesGet

 

9 comments

  1. I’m just floored by how stunning the maknae has become. She looks freaking incredible in that strapless red gown around 1:16 and I am impressed that she seems to still be improving as a singer (I read that she worked a lot with a vocal coach while working on Gone with the Wind to improve her singing, which is typical of her perfectionist nature). Heck she even shows a little cleavage at 1:21 which at one time she was really uncomfortable doing.

    Obviously this is Christmas fluff as 99% of Christmas songs are from pop music acts. Still, I hope the success of this inspires Seohyun to keep composing. I think she has a chance to become a good composer as she can play guitar and piano and is exceptionally well read. Those are the basics for a composer. Now she just needs the confidence and life experiences to write. With time she may become a good composer assuming SM gives her the chance and maybe helps her cultivate that. I’d be really interested in a solo project by her where she composed all of her own lyrics and maybe played the piano or guitar herself. This is a girl who taught herself to wink as an adult which is not easy and when she decides to do something she usually succeeds.

    I wonder if Seohyun is fluent in English now. She seemed to be getting a good command of English over the years and I wouldn’t be surprised if she is finally functionally fluent. She’s sung well in English for several years and had really good English pronunciation going back as far as 2012. As future ruler of the free world I can see her checking English mastery off her list. 🙂

  2. The pigtail bun will be looked back on with the same disdain that man buns and lumberjack beards will be in several years. Whoever lied at some fashion magazine or hipster blog and said those were good looks ought to be keel-hauled.

  3. Dear Santa,

    Please give me back the last 4 minutes of my life. I promise never to listen to this song again.

    1. I went back and forth on whether this was even worth reviewing and even I couldn’t muster a full review.

  4. Christmas Songs are the most worthless things in the world.

    1. Pretty much agree.

    2. But, but.. We get to see Tiffany looking flawless. Isn’t it already worthy enough ?

  5. black soshi · · Reply

    A big thanks to Kent for trying to save us from this cash-grab bag of shit from SM. I’m pretty sure this is the final nail. It pains me to admit that SNSD is over for me now, but without Jessica I just don’t care anymore.
    Thankfully I have Wendy and Red Velvet to sustain my addiction.

  6. Terrible. But at least I loved those hair buns for cutie maknae.

Leave a Reply

