Review: Hyuna – “Because I’m The Best” Is Definitely Not The Best

hyuna because im the best

While Hyuna solo releases are always welcomed for the gleeful way in which she flaunts sexiness and angers netizens with every single precise shake of her hips, there is not much joy to be found with “Because I’m The Best,” a disappointingly dull effort from one of K-Pop’s most exciting stars.

If “Because I’m The Best” can be described in one word, it’d be “unfocused.” Frankly, it’s hard to keep track of the song’s structure between intro, verses, guest rap, bridge, Hyuna’s own propensity to rap-sing and the outro. Outside of the intro verse and first chorus, there’s no real sense of momentum to tether one’s self to while listening to Hyuna’s latest comeback. Lyrics just happen. Hyuna’s stylistic choices during her rap-singing in the verses are barely distinguishable from her delivery in the choruses and BTOB’s Ilhoon compounds this problem by rapping in almost the exact same cadence as Hyuna’s parts. Add to that a production that only has two modes, spacey, bass heavy EDM hip-pop and spacey, bass and synth heavy EDM, and you have a track that sounds like meandering loudness, signifying nothing.

The numbing sameness of the song unfortunately translates to the video. Sadly, Hyuna’s sex appeal is almost all this video has for it. “Because I’m the Best’s” sets and color scheme of NEON EVURRTHANG is headache inducing and it is omnipresent, from the props and sets to the awfully garish lighting. It’s enough to hate Miami Vice by association and the video looks like deathly ill Nerds candies vomited everywhere. Outside of the image of Hyuna in a bra, the most stupefying thing about “Because I’m The Best” is that it’s a boring ass video. It’s ostensibly a dance-in-a-box video that spends more time trying to squeeze as many cuts and shakey cam focus as it can into three and a half minutes. Strobe lights are employed with an abandon that T-ara would likely deem reckless. Shots look like they were sequenced together at random. This sort of singular focus can work for a photobook or as a teaser but when it’s stretched out to an entire video, the results are tedious at best and a downright pain to watch at worst, something that should never, ever be said when Hyuna is doing Hyuna things (ironically, Hyuna’s mini-album teaser looks like a much more full-formed music video concept than the video for “Because I’m The Best).

It’s hard to fault Hyuna for “Because I’m The Best” because she nearly pulls this off though sheer force of personality. However, the song and video hinder her every step of the way. The production doesn’t bring enough variation to it to mask her limited range as a vocalist and choosing to feature another rapper only muddles things further (Trouble Maker, Hyuna’s duo project with Hyunseung, works well because it pairs Hyuna with a good singer and lets her do her rapping-singing as a contrast). The video only has a paper-thin concept (Hyuna and neon) but the aggressive editing and lighting choices are a chore to process, and once it becomes clear that the ONLY idea that the video has is “Hyuna,” it quickly becomes an exercise in monotony. One could simply look at this gif and save themselves some time and an Advil.

12 comments

  1. What happened with all of those bathroom sex and pool scenes? Is that for a different MV? I’m so confused.

    1. As seems to be ever more common previews have little to do with the final product.

      1. I just find it hard to believe that they sent her and support staff all the way to Cali just to film a teaser.

  2. The music video reminds me of “Spring Breakers”, it’s just a stupid hot-ass mess. The song is alright but I feel the one from thd trailer could have been better.

  3. Its the first song I didnt dislike from the first listen but has a weaker impact. Its also catchy but its lacking that Hyuna hook

  4. Another underwhelming song in what has been a really mediocre spring and summer in K-pop. Songs just haven’t had hooks or been entertaining as much this year. I don’t expect deep lyrics or instrumental gems, but a bunch of songs are just boring or outright not listenable. It’s like they aren’t even bothering to run songs past an A&R guy before putting them out. Veteran groups seem to largely be getting by on past accomplishments and built-up fan bases blindly supporting a lot of mediocrity and other groups are having underwhelming comebacks or debuts. It’s like K-pop has lost a lot of its mojo this year.

    1. Kpoptartsarebestpoptarts · · Reply

      Up until recently I would have agreed with you. Earlier this year, the only two releases I really liked where Crayon Pop’s FM and Lim Kim’s Awoo. GG’s Catch Me If You Can, Kara’s Cupid, and Mamamoo’s Um Oh Ah Yeah were also good, but not great.

      Things really started to pick up towards the end of June with AoA’s Heart Attack and Playback’s Playback. In July you had, 9Muses Hurt Locker, GG’s Party, APink’s Remember, Stellar’s Vibrato, and Hello Venus’s I’m Ill. So far in August we’ve got the whole Wondergirls Reboot, T-ara’s So Crazy, Stephanie’s Prisoner, and GG’s Lion Heart and You Think.

      So yeah, early this year wasn’t so good. But in my 4 years of listening to Kpop I can’t remember a more jam-packed mid-to-late summer. There have been at least a dozen really solid releases since the end of June. Up until then I thought maybe I was growing out of my Kpop phase, but I’m more hooked now than I ever was.

      1. I’m on board with these sentiments. I even like Apink’s “Remember”, but it’s been worked to death.

        Still not a fan of “I Feel You” from the Wonder Girls, but I will say I don’t hate it as much as I did.

        I love “FM”. The video is so corny/laughable it’s absolute genius.

      2. I still love “I Feel You” and stand by it haha.

      3. Looking at how the summer has unraveled so far, I’d say the amount of hits versus misses has been about average. I think where things have been disappointing is just that so many notable groups had comebacks and it added up to an average season.

      4. We can thank the clampdown on the 19+ video viewcount no longer usable as views. Creative stifling along withe the dread rise of jpop style kidols that will bring the wordt things from Jidols hellish and stagnant industry

  5. Back to this track & video.. Slug’s right on.. Hyuna can’t save the track or the video. I don’t know why some people think that they HAVE to do the rapid cuts & blinking light to the point of inducing seizures to make a video “edgy” or whatever. It’s just distracting.

    If the music’s good, the video should simply showcase the star(s) in my opinion.. that or tell a story, but that’s simply not done as much as the simple dance-in-a-box concept.

    Speaking of telling a story.. boy that is where the video for “Lionheart” I _guess_ was supposed to go. Miserable failure. The song & the retro concept are not bad, but the video was just (dare I say?) stupid.

Leave a Reply

