MAMAMOO Made An Amazing Medley Of So Many K-Pop Songs And It’s The Best Damn Thing

mamamoo342354356436

While the summer comebacks have been a little lackluster so far, MAMAMOO has descended from on-high to save us from a summer of mediocrity with a singularly fantastic live performance on the always excellent “Yoo Hee Yeol’s Sketchbook.”

It’d be one thing if MAMAMOO simply slayed a rousing rendition of “Mr. Ambiguous.” It’s quite another when the group also managed to squeeze in a medley of more pop hits than one could shake a stick at in less than a minute while still staying true to their amazing sound (The medley kicks off at around 1:40 but watch the whole thing for humanity’s sake).

Starting with SISTAR’s “Touch My Body,” MAMAMOO then essentially dropped the mic on Big Bang twice (GD and Taeyang get honored with their “I’m a Good Boy” as well), IU, EXID, A Pink, miss A, JYP, AOA and a host of others that I’m having a hard time recalling in my MAMAMOO-induced daze.

I don’t even care if every single July comeback stinks from here to high heaven, MAMAMOO has redeemed the summer and they didn’t even need a music video to do it.

*Here’s the entire rundown of the medley once you’ve properly thanked the K-Pop gods for MAMAMOO:

SISTAR’s “Touch My Body”
Big Bang’s “Loser”
IU and High 4’s “Not Spring, Love or Cherry Blossoms”
GD x Taeyang’s “Good Boy”
AOA’s “Like a Cat”
A Pink’s “Mr. Chu”
EXID’s “Up and Down”
Jinusean’s “Tell Me One More Time”
Block B’s “Her”
EXID’s “Ah Yeah”
MAMAMOO’s “Um Oh Ah Yeh”
miss A’s “Only You”
Illionaire Records’ “YGGR”
Soyou x JunggiGo’s “Some”
JYP’s “Who’s Your Mama?”
Big Bang’s “Bang Bang Bang”

9 comments

  1. Kpoptartsarebestpoptarts · · Reply

    Wow. Blown away. This is one talented group. The sky is the limit for them.

  2. It’s a cute bit and I wished they drew it out longer, but it was enough to reaffirm for me that I can’t quite get behind Mamamoo’s distinctively jazzy/soulful sound for K-Pop, regardless of the source material. I think I would enjoy an EDM version of ‘Mr. Ambiguous’ 🙂
    I do wish thus group success though as they all can wail like no tomorrow.

  3. Wow. They sound great. I like their “sound”, but the medley is not much of one, really. 1/2 the songs mentioned are just that.. mentioned. there is no more than the name of the song _spoken_ in some cases (Mr. Chu). Medley, to me at least, implies some small percentage of the song/music be performed (enough to recognize the song at least) AND that there is some unique bridge between the various bits so that the _medley_ becomes unique while still paying homage to the original. This is more like a recitation of recent hits with (mostly) unrelated music playing the background.

    Still, a vibrant performance. I have a hard time with them (mostly ’cause I just hate that name, irrational, I know), but I’m really going to have to dedicate some time to checking more of their music.

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention.

  4. I wish more groups and soloists had this level of talent. I wish even more that when companies do have talent that they would properly utilize it and not drop singles that should be filler on side two of an album, at best, and in a perfect world wouldn’t even be on an album. Here’s crossing my fingers that another talented group, SPICA, has a good comeback whenever that is. At least Mamamoo is meeting with some commercial success.

    1. Well, the sad fact is that the management companies don’t give a shit about art. It’s all about the won. So when something glorious like this happens, or when things like Dazzling Red and Mystic White happen we just have to be thankful I guess.

      1. “Well, the sad fact is that the management companies don’t give a shit about art. It’s all about the won. ”

        Which is why the Korean business model can not succeed.

        I don’t like agreeing with this. buts it truth.

  5. Hope the Slug did not miss this!

    1. I had, so thank you for sharing it with me. That was great. May have to do a write up on it today haha.

    2. Thanks, I enjoyed this a lot more than the original (and made me listen to it again)!

Leave a Reply

