Girl’s Day’s Song For A Hair Product Brand Shoots To The Top Of Multiple Charts

Girls-Day-Hello-Bubble

Girl’s Day’s popularity hasn’t been a question mark for years so it’s not surprising (though it’s a little funny) that a song called “Hello Bubble” that the group made for hair product brand Misenscene managed to reach the top of multiple charts after it was released earlier this week.

Girl’s Day doesn’t even have to release an official single to dominate their peers anymore. Well produced Girl’s Day commercial jingles have now been proven to work as well. 

At 10 a.m. on May 13 KST, “Hello Bubble” took first place on the Mnet, Olleh,Daum, and Cyworld music real-time charts. The single is also doing well on Soribada, Genie, and Melon, placing in second, fourth, and sixth place respectively.

And you know what? The song ain’t bad. I can’t even get remotely mad about it. Sure, the Girl’s Day name is likely the only reason that anyone paid attention to this but it’s a fairly solid tune.  Yura’s rap is on point, Hyeri comes across quite well for her lines and Sojin’s smile is everything. The only lacking piece is a Minah-dominated climactic point that is often the calling card of any Girl’s Day release (indeed, the song lacks a punch) but it’s a light jingle called “Hello Bubble” so that may have been intentional. Other than that, this is pretty much a perfect low-effort collaboration that allows Girl’s Day to cash dem checks and gives Girl’s Day fans a small respite from their thirst for a new release (That’s me. My Girl’s Day thirst is very real right now).

Every day’s a Girl’s Day. Other groups better watch their backs when the quartet makes their real comeback.


Longwinded P.S. because I can’t help myself sometimes: Admittedly, I’m not well-versed in these K-Pop psuedo-commercial/song releases but I’d have to say that this one is at least on par with the likes of miss A’s “Love Again” and SNSD’s “Chocolate Love” which are the first two that popped into my mind while I was writing this.

11 comments

  1. Yet Crayon Pop’s masterpiece FM died on the vine. There’s no justice.

  2. Shadow · · Reply

    Did not know this was made for a hair product. Not sure I care.

    Really like the song, very catchy. This will likely make it to the saved mp3s in the jeep.

  3. One of the advantages of not understanding the Korean language is that they can sing about shampoo or genital warts, and I will still enjoy it so long as it’s a good tune.

    The first time I watched the following (before I could recognise anyone), I thought it was taken from a K-Drama. Such a catchy song and also the inexplicable urge to rub sunblock on that girl (Yuri).

    1. Shadow · · Reply

      “One of the advantages of not understanding the Korean language is that they can sing about shampoo or genital warts, and I will still enjoy it so long as it’s a good tune.”

      Agree with this.

  4. I’ve seen that Caribbean Bay CF before, but I sat here & almost watched the whole thing again. Yoona is very beautiful, but Yuri’s figure is just SUCH A KNOCKOUT I had to pick my jaw up off the floor several times & I became entranced.

    Yuri almost never fails to look fantastic. Yoga should be compulsory.

    1. Yuri’s MVP for sure.

  5. This was one of my favorite advertisement songs because I thought this worked so well for Hyoyeon and it’s too bad we have never seen this unit pop up again as it seemed like a great fit for her as her voice is low for a girl, but high for a guy, so she can work in the high end of a song with guys and not get out of her range, she raps well enough, but I thought the best part is it showcased her dancing style so well which fits much better with the guys than with her group. Yuri, Yoona, and Sooyoung all dance well, but they don’t have that sense of physicality that Hyoyeon exhibits. That style looks right at home here. It’s a shame though that she doesn’t show up until near the end of the video.

    1. Something tells me that Caribbean Bay wasn’t as concerned about dancing ability and vocal range as much as they were concerned about abs and legs.

      1. What? An advertiser being more concerned about appearance than substance? Next you will be telling me that Santa isn’t real. 🙂

      2. Of course not, otherwise I wouldn’t write my letter to the North Pole every year.

  6. jesse ray · · Reply

    best evah, B.E.G.:

Leave a Reply

