SPICA’s Cover of “Cups” Reminds Me That SPICA Owns

spica_cups

While SPICA has been relatively quiet in terms of releases since their outstanding 2012, they have not stopped being one of the best things about K-Pop.

Who knew that Victoria’s demands that Anna Kendrick “do the cup” would be the second best reference of to “Cups (Pitch Perfect’s “When I’m Gone”)” to emerge from the K-Pop sphere? Leave it to SPICA to do just that though:

It would be slightly wrong to call this a cover for a couple reasons. It owns so much that terms like cover shouldn’t apply and they redid the song in Korean and added a rap verse. Also, that harmony is done so right that scientific researchers should immediately start studying it to find magical healing properties. No other group has five members who are as talented singing from top to bottom. They have less dead weight than Teacyeon’s tummy. They are all so fuqing good at what they do and it is a crime against common decency to have Boa (who I didn’t realize was so tall), Bohyung and company sequestered away from the world for anything longer than a New York minute.

SPICA PHWITING.

*Fanboyz so hard

*Dies to Bohyung’s vocals and Narae’s everything

*Listens to SPICA’s version of “Cups” while ascending to Paradise

10 comments

  1. black soshi · · Reply

    I don’t know a thing about that song but that was exceptional…must …resist… more girl groups. I gotta stop stopping by. But I won’t.

    1. If you can add one more girl group to the list, for the love of god make it SPICA.

  2. If it was me I would have stopped singing or stopped playing the cups,lol idk how they did it but they did it good.

    1. I can barely pat my head and rub my stomach at the same time, so consider me out of trying to replicate this.

      1. Let’s just leave it to the professionals or the truly talented,lol

  3. Haha. Poor guy in the back getting shooed away.

    1. He is humanity’s avatar.

  4. Fleur De Seoul · · Reply

    Well hell, after the awesomness that “I’ll be there” was (gets me all in my childhood feels), Spica is once again on the forefront of my brain. Also, Bohyung…. idk if she gets more perfect. I think if I see more of her, she’s gonna be my Wang Fei fei, Yellow slug.

    1. Praise don’t get much higher than that haha. I hope it happens (because that means more SPICA and I want more SPICA damnit).

  5. Fleur De Seoul · · Reply

    Reblogged this on Kpop for Noobcakes and commented:
    I don’t reblog often, but when I do it’s a review of a cover so magical that it blows all other kpop news for the week out of the water (that includes the new F(x) release). Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

